Lagos Establishes Six New Primary Schools

Lagos Establishes Six New Primary Schools

The Lagos State Government on Tuesday said it had  approved the establishment of six new public primary schools under the State Universal Basic Education Board (SUBEB).

The Executive Chairman, Lagos State Universal Basic Education Board, Dr  Ganiyu Sopeyin, who announced this in  a statement, said  the development was in line with the new government policy on education.

The new schools are Community Primary School, Ibasa, and Community  Primary School,  Ajewanwa,  both in Ojo Local Government Education Authority (LGEA)

Also established are  Oladele Aĺaka Primary School, Ejigbo, Oshodi-Isolo LGEA and  Iju Ajuwon Primary School, Ifako-Ijaiye LGEA.

The remaining are Osho Sholu Primary School, Ewu Oloye, Erunwen, Ikorodu LGEA and Correctional Home for Boys, Oregun, Ikeja LGEA.

He also said that the Akinwunmi Ambode administration  had  bridged the gap between  public and private primary  in the state.

Sopeyin said that public primary schools were now better than their private counterparts, stressing that the standard in  public schools had  improved tremendously given the improved academic performance of the pupils.

He further said that the state government had  decided to pay attention to all children, irrespective of origin, adding that desks, chairs and other educational facilities  had  been approved for procurement.

Sopeyin added that with the new schools, the total number of government primary schools in the state was now 1,016.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here